June 2015

Aaron Hedenstrom endorses Keilwerth Saxophones

Current doctoral student Aaron Hedenstrom is now a Keilwerth Saxophones artist:


Tyler Mire Big Band releases second CD

The Tyler Mire Big Band has released its second CD, "Movin' Day". The album features 11 originals compositions with guest artists Jeff Coffin, Daniel Pardo, Don Aliquo, Thomas Eby and Nashville's finest jazz and studio musicians. Tyler completed his master's degree in Jazz Studies in 2012. Other UNT alumni on the recording include Andrew Golden (trumpet), Lindsey Miller (guitar), Jeff Coffin (saxophone), Thomas Eby (trumpet) and Kelsey Mire (woodwinds). You can purchase it at Tyler's site, CDBaby, and iTunes.

Matt Hornbeck and José Perez heard on CBS's "The Briefcase"

Alumni Matt Hornbeck and José Perez, who are working in Los Angeles, play acoustic guitar/mandolin and drumset, respectively, on the Angela Parrish song Different Tomorrow, which was heard on the soundtrack of the opening segment of the CBS show "The Briefcase" on June 10, 2015.

"I wouldn't be surviving out in Los Angeles," Matt said, "if not for the butt-kicking I got while in Denton."

Stuart Mack wins First Place in ITG Jazz Improvisation Competition


Congratulations to Stuart Mack (above, second from left), current undergraduate Jazz Studies major, who won First Place in the International Trumpet Guild Jazz Improvisation Competition. Stuart was one of three finalists who performed on Friday May 29th in the competition, which was part of ITG Conference held in Columbus, Ohio. For first place he received $1500. The other two finalists were Adam Marchand from Ball State and Tristan Napoli, a recent graduate of SUNY Purchase. The competitors all performed the same repertoire: "Triste", "Scotch and Water", "Stormy Weather", and "Yes or No". The judges were Paul Tynan from St. Francis Xavier University, Tiger Akoshi from Berklee College of Music, and Michael Hackett from UNC Charlotte. This was Stuart's second time to be a finalist in this competition.

Congratulations to Jennifer Barnes and Rich DeRosa

Jennifer Barnes has earned tenure and promotion to Associate Professor.

Rich DeRosa has earned promotion to Full Professor.