UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Main menu

Pat Coil

Associate Professor of Jazz Piano

Office Room 272 | (940) 565-2229 | Email: patrick.coil@unt.edu

Pat Coil is an accomplished pianist, synthesist, organist, composer, studio musician, artist, producer, arranger, musical director and educator. Having his musical roots in jazz and r&b, his career spans nearly every genre of music and form of media including TV, film, records, radio and the internet. You can view his credits at patcoil.com.

He has composed, arranged, produced and/or performed on hundreds of underscores, and countless records, movies and television shows. He has six solo jazz records; one of which is his collaboration with longtime friend and former UNT college roommate Lyle Mays.

Touring Europe, North and South America, Canada, Japan and Australia with some of the world’s finest artists and musicians; including jazz artists Carmen McCrae, Ernie Watts, Woody Herman and Scott Henderson; the incomparable Michael McDonald; pop star Olivia Newton-John; Christian artist Amy Grant; and country artist Vince Gill.

Partial recording/performance/MD credits include:
Barbara Streisand, Larry Carlton, Stan Getz, Natalie Cole, Bette Midler, Jeff Coffin, One O’Clock Lab Band, Pat Metheny, Bette Midler, Nancy Wilson, Peter Cetera, Patti Austin, Grant Geissman, Kenny Rogers, John Pattitucci, Marc Johnson, Andy Williams, Travis Tritt, Bob Sheppard, Shania Twain, George Strait, Barry Manilow, Lou Marini, Trisha Yearwood, Cliff Richards, The Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir, etc. Pat was the musical director for Carmen McCrae, CeCe Winan’s TV show ‘CeCe’s Place’, ‘The Dove Awards’, and Barry Manilow’s television special ‘Manilow Country’. He was also the keyboardist for Dionne Warwick’s television show ‘Dionne & Friends’.

Pat attended UNT, is married with four children, has taught at Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU), wrote ‘The Aspiring Keyboardist - Jazz and Beyond’, and is also an associate professor in the Jazz Studies Division at the University of North Texas (UNT).