Seven winners in the 2021 DownBeat Student Music Awards!

2021 DownBeat Magazine Student Music Award winners!

The Division of Jazz Studies is pleased to announce that the division is represented by seven winners in this year's annual awards presented by the premier jazz publication.

Image: 2021 UNT DownBeat SMA winners announcement

Image: 2021 UNT DownBeat SMA winners announcement

Jazz Soloist
Eric Hitt (MM'19, current DMA), Upright Bass

Vocal Jazz Soloist
Katelyn Robinson

Small Vocal Jazz Group
West End • Rachel Azbell, Director

Large Vocal Jazz Ensemble
UNT Jazz Singers • Jennifer Barnes, Director

Jazz Arrangement
Kara Walton (BM'20), “Do I Love You Because You’re Beautiful”

Jazz Arrangement, Small Ensemble
Jackson Churchill, “Silent Way”

Jazz Arrangement, Big Band
Simeon Nathanael Davis (BM'20, current MM), “Herbs and Roots”

The full list of winners can be found through DownBeat's online edition of the June 2021 magazine. It is always great to see so many alumni represented as well.

Congratulations to all of this year's winners, their collaborative peers, and mentor faculty!