UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Main menu

Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

John Murphy

Chair of the Division of Jazz Studies;
Professor of Jazz History
John.Murphy@unt.edu
940-565-4344
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab, Afro-Cuban Ensemble, Brazilian Ensemble
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Associate Professor of Vocal Jazz
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu
940-565-4731
Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band
alan.baylock@unt.edu
940-565-3743
Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet;
Jazz Repertory Ensemble;
Two O'Clock Lab Band
rodney.booth@unt.edu
940-369-7640
Pat Coil

Associate Professor of Jazz Piano
Patrick.Coil@unt.edu
940-565-2229
Tanya Darby

Assistant Professor, Jazz Lead Trumpet;
Director of the Three O'Clock Lab Band
tanya.darby@unt.edu
940-565-7568
Quincy Davis

Assistant Professor of Drumset
Quincy.Davis@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Arranging
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Senior Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
Rosana.Eckert@unt.edu
940-369-5942
Brad Leali

Associate Professor of Jazz Saxophone
brad.leali@unt.edu
940-565-4633
David Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar
David.Mooney@unt.edu

Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Michael Steinel

Professor of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu
940-565-3758

Adjunct Faculty

Steve Barnes

Adjunct Professor of Drumset


Mike Drake

Adjunct Professor of Drumset
michael.drake@unt.edu

Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Professor of Drumset
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Anna Jalkéus

Adjunct Professor of Voice;
Avenue C


Noel Johnston

Adjunct Professor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Chris McGuire

Adjunct Professor of Improvisation


Emeritus and Former Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

Fred Hamilton

Retired Professor of Jazz Guitar
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Ed Soph

Retired Professor of Drumset
edward.soph@unt.edu
940-369-7536

Staff

Craig Marshall

Program Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Professor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu

Christopher Walker

Administrative Assistant for Jazz Studies
Christopher.Walker@unt.edu
940-565-3743

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Kyle Bellaire
Saxophone
Eight O'Clock Lab Band
Edit link:
Colleen Clark
Jazz History & Aural Skills
Four O'Clock Lab Band
Edit link:
Nathan Davis
Trombone
U-Tubes
Edit link:
Henry Dickhoff
Piano
Edit link:
Vaughn Faison
Voice
West End
Edit link:
Carlos Fernandez
Saxophone
Edit link:
Ryan Folger
Small Groups Forum
Edit link:
Kyle Gordon
Arranging
Edit link:
Steven Heffner
Bass
Edit link:
Alec Huntley
Understanding & Appreciating Jazz
Edit link:
Brett Lamel
Six O'Clock Lab Band
Edit link:
Paul Lees
Piano
Zebras
Edit link:
Lauren McKinley
Jazz Library
Lecture Series
Edit link:
Brandon Moore
Arranging
Seven O'Clock Lab Band
Edit link:
Nicholas Owsik
Fundamentals
Nine O'Clock Lab Band
Edit link:
Daniel Pinilla
Guitar
L-5
Edit link:
Marion Powers
Voice
Third Street, Jazz Singers (assistant)
Edit link:
Monte Reid
Voice
Third Street (assistant)
Edit link:
Gregory Satterwaite
Understanding & Appreciating Jazz
Edit link:
Ethan Stalbaum
Guitar
Super 400 (assistant)
Edit link:
Brian Woodbury
Improvisation
Five O'Clock Lab Band
Edit link:
Callanda Youngleson
Voice
West End (assistant)
Edit link: