Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

Rob Parton

Chair, Division of Jazz Studies;
Associate Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Director of Two O'Clock Lab Band
robert.parton@unt.edu
940-565-3758
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Professor of Vocal Jazz;
Director of Jazz Singers
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu

Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band;
Coordinator of Lab Bands
alan.baylock@unt.edu

Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet
rodney.booth@unt.edu

Quincy Davis

Assistant Professor of Drumset
quincy.davis@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Composition & Arranging;
Fall 2020 - Faculty Development Leave
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Philip Dizack

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Jazz Small Groups
philip.dizack@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
rosana.eckert@unt.edu

Nick Finzer

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trombone;
Director of Three O'Clock Lab Band;
Office: MU 107
nicholas.finzer@unt.edu

Brad Leali

Professor of Jazz Saxophone;
Coordinator of Jazz Small Groups
brad.leali@unt.edu

Dave Meder

Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano;
Coordinator of Jazz Improvisation
dave.meder@unt.edu

Davy Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar
david.mooney@unt.edu

Jonathan Patterson

Assistant Professor of Popular and Commercial Music;
Director of Zebras Popular Music Ensemble
jonathan.patterson@unt.edu

Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Scott Tixier

Assistant Professor of Jazz Strings;
Director of Jazz Strings Ensemble
scott.tixier@unt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Steve Barnes

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset
stephen.barnes@unt.edu

Colleen Clark

Adjunct Instructor of Understanding Jazz, Research
colleen.clark@unt.edu

Vincent Gardner

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz History, Research


Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Paul Metzger

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
Paul.Metzger@unt.edu

Marion Powers

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Voice
marion.powers@unt.edu

Kevin Swaim

Adjunct Instructor of Composition & Arranging
kevin.swaim@unt.edu

Chuck Tumlinson

Adjunct Instructor of Understanding Jazz
chuck.tumlinson@unt.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

Fred Hamilton

Regents Professor Emeritus of Jazz Guitar
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

John Murphy

Professor Emeritus of Jazz History, former Chair
john.murphy@unt.edu

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Neil Slater

Professor Emeritus, former Chair
neilandrea@verizon.net

Ed Soph

Regents Professor Emeritus of Drumset
edward.soph@unt.edu

Michael Steinel

Professor Emeritus of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu

Staff

Craig Marshall

Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu
972-317-4131
Christopher Walker

Administrative Coordinator for Jazz Studies
Christopher.Walker@unt.edu
940-565-3743

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Agustin Alonso
Jazz Library, Jazz Lecture Series
Gus Arnold
Eight O'Clock Lab Band
Saxophone, History of Jazz
Rachel Azbell
West End Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Voice, Techniques & Styles for Non-Majors
Trenton Barnes
Understanding Jazz
Aleyna Brown
Pro Tools, Logic Pro
Joshua Calef
Zebras Pop Music Ensemble
Jazz Fundamentals for Vibraphone
Jackson Churchill
Improv I, Understanding Jazz
Michael Clement
Arranging
Joshua Cossette
Arranging
Jackson Courtright
U-Tubes Jazz Trombone Ensemble
Trombone
Tobi Crawford
Third Street Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Voice
Eric Diaz
Six O'Clock Lab Band
Jazz Fundamentals
Ariel Glassman
Seven O'Clock Lab Band
Arranging
Kira Goidel
Jazz Chamber Music, Vocal Jazz Admin
Music Entrepreneurship
Ivan Gygi
Guitar, Super 400 Guitar Ensemble
Eric Hitt
Four O'Clock Lab Band
Bass
Eugen Kim
Strings, Jazz Strings Ensemble
Jazz Aural Fundamentals, Improv II
Yeeun Kim
Piano, Jazz Fundamentals for Piano
Jazz Keyboard Fundamentals
Andrew Larsen
Saxophone
June Lee
Jazz Fundamentals for Piano, Improv III
Jazz Chamber Music, Jazz Keyboard Fundamentals
Will St. Peter
335 Jazz Guitar Ensemble
Intro to Jazz Recordings, Guitar
Tyler Thomas
Ave C Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Voice, Gene Peurling Collection
Chris Van Leeuwen
Five O'Clock Lab Band
Jazz Fundamentals, Improv IV