UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Main menu

Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

John Murphy

Chair of the Division of Jazz Studies;
Professor of Jazz History
John.Murphy@unt.edu
940-565-4344
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab, Afro-Cuban Ensemble, Brazilian Ensemble
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Associate Professor of Vocal Jazz
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu
940-565-4731
Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band
alan.baylock@unt.edu
940-565-3743
Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet;
Jazz Repertory Ensemble;
Two O'Clock Lab Band
rodney.booth@unt.edu
940-369-7640
Pat Coil

Associate Professor of Jazz Piano
Patrick.Coil@unt.edu
940-565-2229
Tanya Darby

Assistant Professor, Jazz Lead Trumpet
tanya.darby@unt.edu
940-565-7568
Quincy Davis

Assistant Professor of Drumset;
Starting in Fall 2017


Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Arranging
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Senior Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
Rosana.Eckert@unt.edu
940-369-5942
Fred Hamilton

Professor of Jazz Guitar (through Spring 2017);
Director of Guitar Ensembles
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

Brad Leali

Associate Professor of Jazz Saxophone;
Director of the Three O'Clock Lab Band
brad.leali@unt.edu
940-565-4633
David Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Studies (Guitar);
Starting in Fall 2017


Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Ed Soph

Professor of Drum Set (through Spring 2017)
edward.soph@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Michael Steinel

Professor of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu
940-565-3758

Adjunct Faculty

Mike Drake

Adjunct Professor of Drumset
michael.drake@unt.edu
940-565-4124
Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Professor of Drumset
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Professor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Carl Lundgren

Adjunct Professor of Trombone
CarlLundgren@my.unt.edu

Chris McGuire

Adjunct, Improvisation


Rich McLure

Adjunct, Applied Jazz Guitar


Emeritus and Former Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Staff

Craig Marshall

Program Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Professor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu

Christopher Walker

Administrative Assistant for Jazz Studies
Christopher.Walker@unt.edu
940-565-3730

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Sarina Bachleitner
Arranging
Kyle Bellaire
Saxophone
Justin Binek
Voice
West End
Colleen Clark
Small Groups
Eight O'Clock Lab Band
Henry Dickhoff
Piano
Abdullah Ebrahim
Seven O'Clock Lab Band
Conner Eisenmenger
U-Tubes
Six O'Clock Lab Band
Andrew Evangelista
Voice
Ave C
Third Street
Brian Fincher
Fundamentals
Kyle Gordon
Arranging
Lea Grant
Voice
Steven Heffner
Bass
Brian Horton
Four O'Clock Lab Band
Anna Jalkeus
Voice
Adrian Laird
Fundamentals
Listening
Brent McCollough
Piano
Zebras
Cooper Nelson
Improvisation
Daniel Pinilla
Guitar
Ethan Stalbaum
Guitar
Brian Stark
Arranging
Luke Wingfield
Five O'Clock Lab Band
Brian Woodbury
Nine O'Clock Lab Band