Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

Rob Parton

Division Chair;
Associate Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Director of Two O'Clock Lab Band
robert.parton@unt.edu
940-565-3758
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Professor of Vocal Jazz | ;
Director of Jazz Singers | ;
Coordinator of Vocal Jazz
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu

Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band;
Coordinator of Lab Bands
alan.baylock@unt.edu

Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet
rodney.booth@unt.edu

Quincy Davis

Associate Professor of Drumset
quincy.davis@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Composition & Arranging;
Director of the Three O'Clock Lab Band
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Philip Dizack

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Coordinator of Jazz Chamber Music
philip.dizack@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
rosana.eckert@unt.edu

Nick Finzer

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trombone;
Office: MU 107
nicholas.finzer@unt.edu

Brad Leali

Professor of Jazz Saxophone
brad.leali@unt.edu

Dave Meder

Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano;
Coordinator of Jazz Improvisation
dave.meder@unt.edu

Davy Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar
david.mooney@unt.edu

Lynn Seaton

Regents Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Kimberly Hannon Teal

Assistant Professor of Jazz History & Theory
kimberly.hannonteal@unt.edu

Scott Tixier

Assistant Professor of Jazz Strings;
Director of Jazz Strings Lab
scott.tixier@unt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Steve Barnes

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset
stephen.barnes@unt.edu

Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Paul Metzger

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
paul.metzger@unt.edu

Fredrick Sanders

Adjunct Instructor of Piano
Fredrick.Sanders@unt.edu

Robert Trusko

Adjunct Instructor of Commercial Music;
Asst. Director of Zebras
robert.trusko@unt.edu

Chuck Tumlinson

Adjunct Instructor of Understanding Jazz
chuck.tumlinson@unt.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

Fred Hamilton

Regents Professor Emeritus of Jazz Guitar
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

John Murphy

Professor Emeritus of Jazz History, former Chair
john.murphy@unt.edu

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Neil Slater

Professor Emeritus, former Chair
neilandrea@verizon.net

Ed Soph

Regents Professor Emeritus of Drumset
edward.soph@unt.edu

Michael Steinel

Professor Emeritus of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu

Staff

Craig Marshall

Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu
972-317-4131
Madison Russell

Administrative Coordinator for Jazz Studies
madison.russell@unt.edu
940-565-3743

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Agustín Alonso
Jazz Library
Jazz Lecture Series
Jazz Strings Lab
Dakota Andersen
Aurora Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Singers
Studies in Jazz- Voice
August Bish
Jazz Improv II, Applied Bass
Jazz Bass Performance Fundamentals
Jackson Churchill
6 O'Clock Lab Band
Pete Clagett
Jazz Chamber Music
Jazz Fundamentals II
Jack Courtright
Seven O'Clock Lab Band
U-Tubes Jazz Trombone Ensemble
Applied Trombone
Austin Crawford
Jazz Drumset Performance Fundamentals
Simeon Davis
Latin Jazz Lab
North Texas Jazz Label Media
Ariel Glassman
Jazz Library
Arranging Lab
Kira Goidel
Vocal Jazz Publishing Admin
Vocal Jazz Social Media Admin
Jazz Fundamentals I, Jazz Aural Fundamentals
Daniëlla Hart Rossouw
West End Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Jazz Voice Artwork/Graphic Design
Applied Voice
Vocal Jazz Library
Daniel Henson
Applied Saxophone
Understanding Jazz
Eric Hitt
Four O'Clock Lab Band
Intro to Jazz Records
Whitney James
West End Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Studies in Jazz— Voice
Yeeun Kim
Jazz Piano Performance Fundamentals
Applied Piano, Jazz Keyboard Fundamentals
Andrew Larsen
Applied Saxophone
June Lee
Harmonization, Jazz Improv III
Jazz Keyboard Fundamentals
Jazz Piano Performance Fundamentals
Applied Piano
Renée McGee
Jazz Fundamentals
Jazz Aural Fundamentals
Jazz Library
Ryan Peterson
Super 400 Jazz Guitar Ensemble
Understanding Jazz
Ben Prentice
L-5 Guitar Ensemble
DJ Rice
Arranging Lab
Alex Stigleman
Arranging Lab
Tyler Thomas
Avenue C Vocal Jazz Ensemble
Jazz History
Applied Voice
Jazz Arranging – Voice
Chris Van Leeuwen
Five O'Clock Lab Band
Jazz Fundamentals II
Improv IV