Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

John Murphy

Chair of the Division of Jazz Studies;
Professor of Jazz History
John.Murphy@unt.edu
940-565-4344
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Professor of Vocal Jazz;
Director of Jazz Singers
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu
940-565-4731
Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band;
Coordinator of Lab Bands
alan.baylock@unt.edu

Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet
rodney.booth@unt.edu
940-369-7640
Quincy Davis

Assistant Professor of Drumset
Quincy.Davis@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Composition & Arranging
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Philip Dizack

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Jazz Small Groups
philip.dizack@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
Rosana.Eckert@unt.edu
940-369-5942
Nick Finzer

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trombone;
Director of Three O'Clock Lab Band;
Office: MU 107
nicholas.finzer@unt.edu

Brad Leali

Professor of Jazz Saxophone;
Coordinator of Jazz Small Groups
brad.leali@unt.edu
940-565-4633
Dave Meder

Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano;
| Coordinator of Jazz Improvisation
dave.meder@unt.edu
940-565-2229
Davy Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar
David.Mooney@unt.edu

Rob Parton

Associate Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Director of Two O'Clock Lab Band


Jonathan Patterson

Assistant Professor of Popular and Commercial Music
jonathan.patterson@unt.edu

Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Scott Tixier

Assistant Professor of Jazz Violin
scott.tixier@unt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Steve Barnes

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset


Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Professor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Paul Metzger

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
Paul.Metzger@unt.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

Fred Hamilton

Regents Professor Emeritus of Jazz Guitar
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Ed Soph

Regents Professor Emeritus of Drumset
edward.soph@unt.edu

Michael Steinel

Professor Emeritus of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu

Staff

Craig Marshall

Program Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu
972-317-4131
Christopher Walker

Administrative Assistant for Jazz Studies
Christopher.Walker@unt.edu
940-565-3743

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Gus Arnold
Saxophone
Rachel Azbell
Voice
Trenton Barnes
Jazz appreciation for non-majors
Tim Bauckman
Guitar
Joshua Calef
Popular and commercial music
Michael Clement
Piano
Keith Daniels Llanten
Arranging
Tanner Deters
Lab Band, Saxophone
Ivan Gygi
Guitar
Eric Hitt
Lab Band, bass
Alec Huntley
Piano, Intro to Jazz Recordings
Drew Kilpela
U-Tubes
Eugen Kim
Strings
Thomas Laubhan
Jazz appreciation for non-majors
June Lee
Piano
Alex Miller
Popular and commercial music
Gregory Newman
Lab Band, Fundamentals
Suzette Reese
Voice
Gregory Satterthwaite
Piano, jazz appreciation for non-majors
Kathryn Sherman
Voice
Tyler Thomas
Voice
Chris Van Leeuwen
Lab Band, Improvisation
Courtney Wright
Lab Band, Arranging