Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

John Murphy

Chair of the Division of Jazz Studies;
Professor of Jazz History
John.Murphy@unt.edu
940-565-4344
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Associate Professor of Vocal Jazz;
Director of Jazz Singers
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu
940-565-4731
Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band
alan.baylock@unt.edu

Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet;
Director of Two O'Clock Lab Band
rodney.booth@unt.edu
940-369-7640
Quincy Davis

Assistant Professor of Drumset
Quincy.Davis@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Arranging
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
Rosana.Eckert@unt.edu
940-369-5942
Nick Finzer

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trombone;
Office: MU 107
nicholas.finzer@unt.edu

Brad Leali

Professor of Jazz Saxophone
brad.leali@unt.edu
940-565-4633
Dave Meder

Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano
dave.meder@unt.edu
940-565-2229
Davy Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar
David.Mooney@unt.edu

Jonathan Patterson

Assistant Professor of Popular and Commercial Music;
Director of Zebras
jonathan.patterson@unt.edu

Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Michael Steinel

Professor of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu
940-565-3758
Scott Tixier

Assistant Professor of Jazz Violin
scott.tixier@unt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Steve Barnes

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset;
Jazz small groups


Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Professor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Tatiana Mayfield

Adjunct instructor of applied jazz voice
tatiana.mayfield@unt.edu

Paul Metzger

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
Paul.Metzger@unt.edu

Chuck Tumlinson

Adjunct instructor of applied jazz trumpet, Three O'Clock Lab Band, jazz history
chuck.tumlinson@unt.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

Fred Hamilton

Regents Professor Emeritus of Jazz Guitar
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Ed Soph

Regents Professor Emeritus of Drumset
edward.soph@unt.edu

Staff

Craig Marshall

Program Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu
972-317-4131
Christopher Walker

Administrative Assistant for Jazz Studies
Christopher.Walker@unt.edu
940-565-3743

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Tim Bauckman
Guitar
Joshua Bell
Piano
Samuel Chang
Fundamentals
Colleen Clark
Jazz History & Aural Skills
Four O'Clock Lab Band
Michael Clement
Piano
Sam Cousineau
Saxophone
Nathan Davis
Trombone
U-Tubes
Tanner Deters
Small groups
Vaughn Faison
Voice
West End
Tyler Harvey
Lab band
Steven Heffner
Bass
Eric Hitt
Lab Band, Small groups
Alec Huntley
Understanding & Appreciating Jazz
Nicholas Owsik
Fundamentals
Nine O'Clock Lab Band
Daniel Pinilla
Guitar
L-5
Marion Powers
Voice
Third Street, Jazz Singers (assistant)
Gregory Satterthwaite
Understanding & Appreciating Jazz
Eric Serbu
Saxophone
Kathryn Sherman
Voice
Mauricio Silva Ortiz
Popular and Commercial Music
John Sturino
Vibraphone, Latin Jazz Lab
Courtney Wright
Arranging, Library/lecture series
Callandra Youngleson
Voice
West End (assistant)