Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

Rob Parton

Interim Chair, Division of Jazz Studies;
Associate Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Director of Two O'Clock Lab Band
robert.parton@unt.edu
940-565-3758
José Aponte

Principal Lecturer, Drumset and Latin Percussion;
Director of Latin Jazz Lab;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
jose.aponte@unt.edu
281-433-5411
Tony Baker

Professor, Trombone;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
tony.baker@unt.edu
940-565-3711
Jennifer Barnes

Professor of Vocal Jazz;
Director of Jazz Singers
jennifer.barnes@unt.edu
940-565-4731
Alan Baylock

Associate Professor;
Director of One O'Clock Lab Band;
Coordinator of Lab Bands
alan.baylock@unt.edu
(940) 369-7951
Rodney Booth

Senior Lecturer of Jazz Trumpet
rodney.booth@unt.edu
940-369-7640
Quincy Davis

Assistant Professor of Drumset
Quincy.Davis@unt.edu
940-369-7536
Richard DeRosa

Professor of Jazz Composition & Arranging
richard.derosa@unt.edu

Philip Dizack

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trumpet;
Jazz Small Groups
philip.dizack@unt.edu

Rosana Eckert

Principal Lecturer of Vocal Jazz
Rosana.Eckert@unt.edu
940-369-5942
Nick Finzer

Assistant Professor of Jazz Trombone;
Director of Three O'Clock Lab Band;
Office: MU 107
nicholas.finzer@unt.edu

Brad Leali

Professor of Jazz Saxophone;
Coordinator of Jazz Small Groups
brad.leali@unt.edu
940-565-4633
Dave Meder

Assistant Professor of Jazz Piano;
Coordinator of Jazz Improvisation
dave.meder@unt.edu
940-565-2229
Davy Mooney

Assistant Professor of Jazz Guitar
David.Mooney@unt.edu

Jonathan Patterson

Assistant Professor of Popular and Commercial Music;
Director of Zebras Popular Music Ensemble
jonathan.patterson@unt.edu

Lynn Seaton

Professor of Bass
lynn.seaton@unt.edu
940-369-7639
Scott Tixier

Assistant Professor of Jazz Strings;
Director of Jazz Strings Ensemble
scott.tixier@unt.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Steve Barnes

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset
stephen.barnes@unt.edu

Colleen Clark

Adjunct Instructor of Understanding Jazz
colleenclark@my.unt.edu

Stockton Helbing

Adjunct Instructor of Drumset;
Primary division: Instrumental Studies
Stockton.Helbing@unt.edu

Noel Johnston

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
noel.johnston@unt.edu

Paul Metzger

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Guitar
Paul.Metzger@unt.edu

Marion Powers

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Voice
marion.powers@unt.edu

Robert Trusko

Adjunct Instructor of Ableton Live, Commercial Music


Chuck Tumlinson

Adjunct Instructor of Jazz History, Understanding Jazz
chuck.tumlinson@unt.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Dan Haerle

Regents Professor Emeritus
danhearle@me.com

Fred Hamilton

Regents Professor Emeritus of Jazz Guitar
frederick.hamilton@unt.edu

John Murphy

Retired Chair and Professor of Jazz History
jazz@unt.edu

James Riggs

Regents Professor Emeritus
james.riggs1@verizon.net

Paris Rutherford

Regents Professor Emeritus


Ed Soph

Regents Professor Emeritus of Drumset
edward.soph@unt.edu

Michael Steinel

Professor Emeritus of Jazz Trumpet
mike.steinel@unt.edu

Staff

Craig Marshall

Manager for Jazz Lab Bands;
Adjunct Instructor of Jazz Studies
craig.marshall@unt.edu
972-317-4131
Christopher Walker

Administrative Assistant for Jazz Studies
Christopher.Walker@unt.edu
940-565-3743

Teaching Assistants/Fellows

Gus Arnold
Saxophone, Jazz Fundamentals
Rachel Azbell
Voice, Jazz Voice class for non-majors
Trenton Barnes
Jazz Appreciation for non-majors, Jazz History, Jazz Chamber Music
Tim Bauckman
Guitar, Super 400 Guitar Ensemble
Joshua Calef
Popular and Commercial Music, Zebras Pop Ensemble
Michael Clement
Piano, Arranging
Joshua Cossette
Piano, Jazz Chamber Music
Tobi Crawford
Jazz Chamber Music, Voice
Keith Daniels Llanten
Arranging, Jazz Library, Jazz Lecture Series
Tanner Deters
Six O'Clock Lab Band, Saxophone
Eric Diaz
Eight O'Clock Lab Band
Ivan Gygi
Guitar, 335 Guitar Ensemble
Eric Hitt
Four O'Clock Lab Band, Bass, Jazz Chamber Music
Alec Huntley
Piano, Intro to Jazz Recordings
Drew Kilpela
U-Tubes, Trombone, Jazz Chamber Music
Eugen Kim
Strings, Jazz Strings Ensemble, Jazz Chamber Music
Thomas Laubhan
Jazz Appreciation for non-majors
June Lee
Piano
Suzette Reese
Voice, West End
Kathryn Sherman
Voice, Avenue C, Vocal Jazz Arranging
Tyler Thomas
Voice, Third Street, Jazz Voice class for non-majors
Chris Van Leeuwen
Five O'Clock Lab Band, Improvisation, Jazz Chamber Music
Courtney Wright
Seven O'Clock Lab Band, Arranging