The Glenn E. Gomez International Artists Endowment for Jazz Studies

The Glenn E. Gomez International Artists Endowment for Jazz Studies is scheduled in the early part of the spring term. Announced in 1994, the endowment has enabled UNT's College of Music to bring internationally known jazz artists to the university for extended periods of time, establishing relationships between selected artists and UNT students. "Jazz is an art form handed down from mentor to student, with the accomplished former student becoming the mentor of yet another student. This is the legacy of jazz," said Neil Slater, former chair of the Division of Jazz Studies at UNT. "Preparing students for careers in the competitive and ever-changing world of jazz music is about more than just teaching basic techniques and skills. It's also about inspiring students' creativity and exposing them to what a career as a jazz musician may hold for them."
Glenn Gomez, a graduate of UNT's College of Business and long-time fan of jazz said "We're bringing world-renowned jazz artists to UNT so that students can experience first-hand how the master performers think, create and view life."
Artists who have appeared so far:

1995 Gerry Mulligan - Saxophone, Arranging
1996 Jon Hendricks - Voice, Jazz History
1997 Slide Hampton - Trombone, Improvisation
1998 David Liebman - Saxophone, improvisation
1999 Jim McNeely - Piano, arranging, improvisation
2000 Kenny Wheeler - Trumpet, arranging, improvisation
2001 Michael and Randy Brecker, Saxophone and Trumpet
2002 Bob Brookmeyer, Trombone, Piano, Composition, Arranging
2003 Maria Schneider, composition, arranging
2004 Dave Douglas, trumpet, composition
2005 Phil Woods, alto saxophone
2006 Bill Holman, composer/arranger; Pete Christlieb, saxophone
2007 Rufus Reid, bass, composition
2008 John Abercrombie, guitar, composition
2009 Dave Brubeck Quartet (Dave Brubeck, Bobby Militello, Michael Moore, Randy Jones) and Russell Gloyd, conductor
2010 Lyle Mays, pianist/composer
2011 Kurt Rosenwinkel, guitarist/composer, with his Trio
2012 John Clayton, bassist and composer
2013 Peter Erskine, drumset and composer
2014 Billy Harper, tenor saxophone and composer; The Cookers (Billy Harper, David Weiss, Donald Harrison, George Cables, Cecil McBee, Billy Hart)
2015 Bobby McFerrin, voice
2016 Danilo PĂ©rez, piano with Roni Eytan, Jared Henderson and Adam Cruz
2017 Stefon Harris, composer, vibraphone
2018 Jimmy Heath, saxophone
2019 Kenny Werner, piano, with Ari Hoenig, drums, and Johannes Weidenmueller, bass
2020 Regina Carter, violin